weeds_banner cropped

Property Tax Department

Property Tax bills are mailed in October of each year to the owner of record, as their name and mailing address appear on the tax roll. The tax roll is prepared and maintained by the State of Montana, Department of Revenue.

If you have not received a tax statement by November 1, please contact the Treasurer’s Office at 406-466-2694 and a duplicate statement will be mailed. If you move and have an address change, the local Montana Department of Revenue at 406-466-2908 should be notified of the change in mailing address for each property you own.

For the local Department of Revenue to change a name on the tax roll, proper documents must be completed and recorded at the Teton County Clerk and Recorders Records Department. A name change could be due to a transfer of ownership of the property, or death or marriage.

Failure to receive a property tax statement does not exempt the taxpayer from timely payment of the taxes due.

Property Tax Deadlines

Property taxes are due November 30 and May 31 of each year. Only half or full payments will be accepted. Partial payments and credit card payments are not acceptable.

Property Tax Payments

Payments may be mailed to the Teton County Treasurer’s Office, P.O. Box 428, Choteau, MT. 59422. To ensure accurate posting, please include the appropriate payment coupon for each property.You may also stop by our office to make the payment. We are located in the basement of the Teton County Courthouse in Choteau. Office hours are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m, including the noon hour.

What if I am unable to pay my property taxes?

In accordance with Montana Law, property taxes that are delinquent are assessed a 2% penalty and interest charges are incurred at the rate of 5/6 of 1%, per month. To ensure the correct amount of your payment, please contact the property tax department at 406-466-2694.