Boards & Commissions


The Teton Airport Commission was created by joint resolution duly passed and adopted by the County of Teton, City of Choteau, Town of Fairfield, and Town of Dutton for the governing and regulation of the airports located in the three respective municipalities.  The Airport Commission is responsible for all aeronautical activities at Choteau, Fairfield, and Dutton airports and all flying aircraft departing from or arriving at these airports, in the airspace which constitutes the air traffic zones at these airports, and shall conduct in conformity with the current pertinent provisions of the Federal Air Regulations.


The Teton County Cemetery Board is dedicated to serving the cemeteries of Teton County in Montana. The District is comprised of many cemeteries, including Choteau Cemetery, Dutton Cemetery, St. Paul Cemetery, Farmington Cemetery, Bynum Cemetery, Immanuel Cemetery, Power Cemetery, and Sunset Hills Cemetery.


Teton County Commissioners govern and guide the operations of the county. The Commissioners oversee county departments including: Road, Public Health; Public Assistance; Sanitarian; Disaster and Emergency Services; Planning; Weed Control; and Extension as well as other contract services.

Conservation District

The Conservation District carries out programs in erosion control, water conservation, soil fertility management and proper land use.    They work with local, State and Federal agencies to assist in carrying on a soil and water conservation programs, including the interpretation of data to determine acceptable alternative land use and treatment to help guide the farm and ranch operators in developing sound conservation plans. An important function of the District is to inform landowners and occupants of the benefits derived from wise use of the soil and water resources in the community.


The Teton County Board of Health (BOH) governs public health and sanitation efforts in Teton County.  The BOH has the authority to adopt rules, regulations, and resolutions, and to enact policies within Teton County Public Health.

Local Emergency Planning Committee

The LEPC works to develop and review the county’s emergency response plan annually, and provide information about chemicals in the community to citizens.  The Teton County LEPC is made up of local stakeholders including:

  • Elected state and local officials
  • Police, fire, civil defense, and public health professionals
  • Environment, transportation, and hospital officials
  • Facility representatives
  • Representatives from community groups and the media


The Teton County Planning Board works to maintain and improve quality of life in our community. Acting upon such issues as growth, transportation, environmental protection, agriculture, historical preservation and conservation, the Planning Board is largely responsible for setting land use and protecting resources throughout the county.


The Weed Board oversees the control of noxious weeds in Teton County.